Canada Day (formerly known as Dominion Day) is a national holiday in Canada. It is always observed on 1 July, unless that date falls on a Sunday, in which case it is observed the following day

Why is this day formerly known Dominion Day?

On 1 July 1867, the British government (under Queen Victoria) approved a plan which allowed Canada to become an independent country with its own government. Four provinces (Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick) joined to form the Dominion of Canada.
Dominion Day was officially renamed "Canada Day" by an Act of Parliament on 27 October 1982.
Canada was once a British Colony, but it is now an independent country with its own legal system and constitution.

Facts about Canada

Canada is ......
•a country occupying most of northern North America,
•one of the largest countries in the world
•the second largest country in the world.
Only 27 million people live in Canada, making it the 28th largest in population.

Canada has the largest source of fresh water in the world. A large portion of Canada is covered with lakes and streams.
In Canada, 100 different languages are spoken.
The Canadian $1 coin is called the Loonie, named after a bird, pictured on the coin, native to Canada.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario